Story of a 20 Year Old Dance Music Fan (1997-2017) [Years: 1995-1999]

*I use this blog, not for reviews or reviews of club nights, but also to express my views on issues and things that I feel passionate about, for certain things in this Dance music industry like the history of my love for this Genre*

Dance music, as many of my friends will know is a massive part of my life (Music is the key love of my life) But, within the 20 years I’ve been a fan I have seen many sub genre’s die and many new DJs appearing from all over the world and making it to top.
Let’s begin where it all started for me, this is my story.

1995 – This was the year it all began for me (Officially, but because I was too young I didn’t understand it until 1997) I was 6 years old living in a house in Bromborough, Liverpool with my mum, sister and my dad. My mum and dad always had the radio on or the TV on 96.7 or The Big Breakfast when I stayed, many a times I’d hear stuff on the radio, for example it could have been that I heard some Blur or Oasis, maybe the Verve or Take That ha ha, but also it was the Dance music in 1995 that was mesmerizing, there’s a few of tracks that I heard when I was 6;

○ N-Trance – Set You Free (Re-released in 1998)
○ Everything But The Girl – Missing (Todd Terry Remix)
○ Bobby Brown – Two Can Play That Game
○ Livin’ Joy – Dreamer
○ The Original – I Luv U Baby
○ The Bucketheads – The Bomb! (These Sounds Fall Into My Mind)
○ Strike – U Sure Do

These and a few more have stuck with me for 22 years, this was the year also some of my friends were brought into the world. It makes me confused when people born in 1995/1996 say they know of these, you were 0-1 years old, huh? Moving along from that little thought, they have stood the test of time as now being all anthems of the 90s and I am pretty proud to hear them at a perfect age.

As the year progressed the music became more pop and rock, little Dance music was being entered in the charts, due to the rise of Brit-pop and the boy bands and girl bands of the 90s, though, there were some pretty amazing classics in 1996 that I still adore.

1996 – This was the year my 7-year-old self was getting to where it could understand music a lot more and caught a lot more of the sounds, by which time I was still spending time at mum and dad’s houses. I owe it all to my dad really as he would take me and my sister on car journeys to the shopping center, into town or even into West Kirby or New Brighton. 1996 had gained many things musically, the Brit Awards were at their finest and Brit-pop was still on the rise, yet Dance music / Euro Dance was still there in the charts, along with the Spice Girls’ amazing ‘Wannabe’ stayed at Number 1 for ages (I will always love these girls no matter what) Here are a few tracks from 1996 that I know and love 21 years later!

○ Gina G – Ooh Ah… Just a Little Bit
○ Robert Miles – Children
○ The Prodigy – Firestarter
○ Underworld – Born Slippy
○ Livin’ Joy – Don’t Stop Movin’
○ Robert Miles feat. Maria Nayler – One and One
○ BBE – Seven Days One Week (My dad played this in the car a lot)
○ Lisa Marie Experience – Keep On Jumpin’
○ JX – There’s Nothing I Won’t Do

And of course all of these are certain pure, classic anthems of the 90s. When I heard Children on the radio in my dad’s car I was engrossed by the sound and melodies, I could never not love it. Seven Days and One Week is just another gorgeous beauty that isn’t played a lot anymore, though I did hear it a few weeks back at Ministry of Sound ha ha.
I was brought up at the right time to enjoy these classics, yet I wasn’t born in the right year to dance to them, unfortunately ha ha!

1997 – And here we go, at last I get to the point of my story were it officially began, when Trance was becoming something totally new to my ears. The Netherlands was all about Trance, the country brought the UK to light of Trance music which was then the biggest genre the UK loved since Acid House/Madchester sounds. Trance was a big deal for any Dance music lover as my dad just adored it so much, that he’d get the cassettes and he’d play every one of them in the car when he’d take us for a car journey.
Trance has been in my life for 20 years, I doubt it will leave my heart, here are some those Dance music tracks in 1997 that I adore today and will adore for life;

○ Todd Terry – Something Goin’ On
○ The Source feat. Candi Staton – You Got The Love
○ Blue Boy – Remember Me
○ Gala – Freed From Desire
○ Dario G – Sunchyme
○ Ultra Nate – Free
○ Sash! – Encore Une Fois, Stay and Ecuador
○ DJ Quicksilver – Bellissima
○ Olive – You’re Not Alone
○ Daft Punk – Da Funk
○ Robin S – Show Me Love

And for the Trance lovers, this is what I adore 20 years later;

○ Nalin & Kane – Beachball
○ Three Drives – Greece 2000
○ Chicane – Offshore
○ Delirium – Silence
○ Energy 52 – Cafe Del Mar
○ Y-Traxx – Mystery Land
○ Da Hool – Meet Her At The Love Parade (RIP)

There are others, I just can’t name off the top of my head ha ha, but it was pretty much me finding my love for Trance music in 1997 at the age of 8.

1998 – This is the OFFICIAL year where my heart meets Trance and hugs it forever. I have many fond memories of listening to some of the beauties in the car or when I hear them on the radio and they get stuck in my head, I was only 9 years old so I was totally ready to feel Trance and Dance music. By this time also, Brit-pop was dying down and the end was near for Blur and a few more bands like Elastica and Pulp. Spice Girls were still topping the charts and earning hit after hit. Was a pretty truly remarkable year for Music and Dance music. Below are some of the Dance tracks I love today;

○ Cher – Believe (Heard this in the car with my mum getting
a dress for her works party)
○ Stardust – Music Sounds Better With You
○ Mousse T vs. Hot n Juicy – Horny
○ T-Spoon – Sex On The Beach
○ Sash! feat. Tina Cousins – Mysterious Times
○ Wildchild – Renegade Master
○ Binary Finary – 1998
○ Paul Van Dyk – For An Angel (Re-Released 1998)

Moving on to my first ever Trance favorites;

○ Liquid Child – Diving Faces
○ Art of Trance – Madagascar
○ Pulp Victim – The World
○ Push – Universal Nation
○ Gouryella – Gouryella
○ Storm – Storm

And again, there are many more I just don’t wish to have the list super long ha ha, as you can see some of these are pretty amazing and helped pave for the way for the EU to bring Trance to the UK. The best thing was that some of these were released in the summer and the heat was pretty nice too back then if I remember rightly ha ha. Moving on to 1999 and this will be the year were more Trance anthems my heart still adores 20 years later.

1999 – My 10-year-old self would find out that she is move to London in March this year, I was pretty much really sad to be moving away from all of my family who I never seen anymore and distance myself from my dad (Who wouldn’t be in my life after this) But I kind of am quite grateful now that I’m 18 years older and I am finally getting to see my Trance faves play, but musically 1999 was the time for indie rock to surface and more dance music and pop music was being released so was still pretty healthy. Moving the London was something I think my mum may regret, I’ve a had a traumatic life in London since 2011 and I think it’s just going to get worse, but I have Trance music and dance music so it’s something that’ll always make me feel better when I’m feeling down or missing home. Here are some more Dance classics from 1999 and Trance anthems too; (Most of these were played in my dad’s car and on the radio a lot ha ha)

○ ATB – 9PM, Don’t Stop
○ Alice Deejay – Better Off Alone
○ Phats & Small – Turn Around
○ Mr Oizo – Flat Beat
○ Wamdue Project – King Of My Castle
○ Armand Van Helden – U Don’t Know Me
○ Fatboy Slim – Right Here Right Now, Praise You, Gangsta Trippin etc.
○ Chicane – Saltwater

The trance beauties;

○ Mauro Picotto – Lizard
○ Blank & Jones – Cream
○ Planet Perfecto – Bullet In A Gun
○ Safri Duo – Played-a-Live
○ Darude – Sandstorm
○ DJ Tiesto – Lethal Industry
○ Lost Witness – Happiness Happening
○ Agnelli & Nelson  – Everyday
○ Fragma – Toca Me

And many more surfaced. So this was my story from 1995-1999, celebrating this year 20 years old Dance music. I really have seen so much going on the last 20 years, I was brought up on Dance music and I can’t wait to have my own children and star playing old school trance and other dance anthems to them, and get them to love something that’s genuine and not what we hear today.

Spent the last 15 years researching and googling, going onto Wiki to find everything about Dance music and where it all began and who started which sub-genre and which have now passed away. I am very diverse with Dance music, I love all of the sub-genre this industry has to offer and now that I am enjoying club nights, I can’t wait to see what the next 10 years (or 20 years bring)

I don’t think I will ever fall out of love with Dance music, it is with me for life.

Leave a Reply

